New city, new life

I’ve been living in the UK for the past three years – so this change shouldn’t feel as big as it does. I’m only moving to London from Birmingham, which is roughly 2 hours away.

But it seems like the biggest change of my life.

But, in a way, it is. London is not the same as Birmingham – the rent is higher, the underground is expensive, the people are not as nice, a bottle of water at the corner shop is £1.29! (As opposed to 75p in Brum for Evian)

I’ve been going back and forth from Birmingham to London and then back again as I can’t seem to be able to let go of my apartment, my life, my city. My rent in Birmingham expires at the end of the month, so I’m ‘livin’ the high life’ for the last time.

But then I definitely need to find a place in London. My friend has given me her key so we could stay at her place until she returns from her holidays. So we have about two weeks to find a decent place in London. Which seems daunting at the moment. For £600 pcm (incl bills), I lived in the city centre of Birmngham in a huge apartment for two people. We have a living room, a washer and a dryer, a dishwasher. And we also have two bathrooms for two people. For the same amount, we saw a place with 8 people, and the bedrooms we saw were in the basement. And no living room.

But London has excellent opportunities for the events industry, such as the arts or music. And I’ll do whatever it takes to succeed in one of these industries.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

